Message for U.S. Citizens: Closure of Four Border Crossings with Russia / U.S. Embassy Russia, Moscow

Location: Russia/Finland border

Event: Finnish authorities have announced the closure of four ports of entry/exit along Finland’s southeastern border with Russia effective from 12:01 a.m. on November 18, 2023, until February 18, 2024.  U.S. citizens will thus be unable to enter or the exit the Russian Federation via these four land borders.

  • Nuijamaa, Vaalimaa, Niirala and Imatra border crossing points are closed for passenger traffic. Travelers may not cross the land border on foot.
  • Other ports of entry remain open at this time.
  • Passengers transiting Finland may cross the border outside regular opening hours in order to make connecting flights/ferries. Passengers must show proof of onward travel and meet all entry requirements.  You can find requirements for entry from the Finnish Border Guard website.

The U.S. government’s ability to provide routine or emergency services to U.S. citizens in Russia is severely limited, particularly in areas far from the U.S. Embassy in Moscow.

At this time U.S. citizens are advised to not travel to Russia, or to depart immediately – more information on the State Department’s Level 4 Travel Advisory (Do Not Travel) can be found on

Actions to Take: 

  • Monitor local media for updates.
  • Do not travel to Russia; if in Russia, depart immediately.
  • Review the State Department’s Russia Departure site for further information.


  • U.S. Embassy Russia, Moscow

+7 495 728-50-00

  • Department of State – Consular Affairs

888-407-4747 or +1 202-501-4444